GETFOXFIT | IFBB Bikini Fitness Athlete & Kidney Cancer Survivor Lisanne Keir

Contest Prep | Weight Training | Fitness Motivation | Nutrition & Healthy Living Inspiration

From Kidney Cancer to the Enercup Contest Stage: The Tan may Fade but the Memories will Last Forever!

Leave a comment

Lisanne Vos (getfoxfit) - Photo credit: JLS Photography

So many emotions.

Last year I set a goal – to compete in my first bodybuilding contest together with my husband (me – Bikini Fitness, Maarten – Bodybuilding -90kg).  I wanted to be as healthy as humanly possible, create a physique I was proud of, see far I could push myself and spend valuable time with my hubby doing something we both absolutely loved to do – lift weights.

I was focussed and I was excited… then a little thing called kidney cancer came along (diagnosis day was interesting!)

But this only added fuel to the fire and I was even more driven, motivated and stubborn than ever to reach my goal.

Just over a year ago I couldn’t walk after having surgery to remove my right kidney with a massive (nearly 1kg) cancerous tumour attached, who I named Lionel – if you want to see the craziness that is Lionel, click here (don’t click if you are squeamish).

I remember those first days well – needing help to get out of the hospital bed, experiencing pain that I never believed was possible and overcoming huge hurdles like walking (more like shuffling) 1 step more than the day before.  They weren’t the most glamourous of days, but I wouldn’t trade them for any other.

I’m a huge believer in being thankful for everything that happens – the good and the bad.

Having the goal I set really helped me through my diagnosis and recovery – mentally and physically.  I needed a focus to take my mind away from the dreaded C word and I needed to stay strong and stay positive to get through it all – so an athlete mentally was adopted.

As I sit here typing it’s crazy to think that I reached that goal and more.

My biggest victory was standing on the Enercup podium on front of 800 people with my battle scars and one kidney.  Being alive and getting to the stage cancer-free was already a massive accomplishment.

Throughout my prep I overcame and learned so many small and big things.  For the first time in my life I was comfortable and confident enough to wear shorts in public (may seem a small feat but it was huge for me – the person who always hated their legs and glutes).  I learned about nutrition, weight training, fitness and the body/mind connection – all of which I have a passion and hunger for to become as knowledgable as I can.

I learned about, and experienced, self control and discipline.  I developed a huge passion for psychology and am fascinated about why we do things, our behaviours and emotions.

This goal, this prep and this sport has changed my life.

It’s crazy to think that the goal I set all those months ago has come to light.  Like I said in the title – the tan may fade but the memories of last weekend’s competition will last a lifetime.   A day my husband and I will never forget, and for which we are both extremely grateful to have come home with 2 prizes.  I couldn’t be more proud of Maarten who placed 4th in his class.  He rocked his performance and I can’t wait to see his progress for his next contest (Ironman) in December.

As for me.  Words can never express just how speechless and humbled I am at receiving the “Women’s Overall People’s Choice Award”.  A trophy which means so very very much to me.  A true honour.

Being part of the Enercup was just awesome.  Not only did I get to spend the day with my Team JK family, but I finally met quite a few “online friends” in person and made new friends.  Maarten and I both enjoyed every single second and minute of it.

Not to sound like a Ms Universe speech but the Enercup’s magical-ness would not have been possible without quite a few people.

From the bottom of my heart I thank my parents, my husband, my son and all my family and friends for their support throughout last year and towards this contest.  Your support has meant the world to me!

My Coach Jerry Koolhoven for all his guidance, advice, trainings sessions and support.  Jerry you rock, full stop.  I set out with a goal and we made this happen together, I will forever be thankful.

My posing coach, and wonderful friend, Sasha van Dijk for all her support throughout this year.  Your teachings, words, wisdom and help has meant more than you could ever imagine.

Angela ColorFame for making me feel like a princess on the day itself.  If you need a brilliant and talented MUA, look no further!

Viola Aloema for creating my dream bikini.  Darling, you hand made a very special piece, which I will always treasure.

My Team JK mates and Fitness Boulevard extended family.  So proud and grateful to know you guys and call you friends.  Thank you all for your support this year. You are all bloody amazing!

This year has been an amazing one and each and every person who I’ve come into contact with (on and off-line) have a special place in my heart.  All I can say is Thank You.

Now onto the task of collecting and collating photos from the Enercup, which  I will upload to album shortly on my Facebook page.

This is just the beginning and I’m excited to work towards the next goals

Bodybuilder 4 life.

I’m grateful to have found it.

Flexcup here we come!!!

#9weeksout

Lisanne Vos (getfoxfit) Photo credit: JLS Photography

Lisanne Vos (getfoxfit) Photo credit: JLS PhotographyLisanne Vos (getfoxfit) Photo credit: JLS Photography

Photo credit: JLS Photography

Don’t forget to follow us on Instagram!

Other blog posts you may like are:

What are you training for?  Essentially, Life!

Working out is a reward, not a punishment

Getting fit after cancer 

Author: Fox

Fox Gym Founders + Owners | Mom + Dad | IFBB Athletes | Bodybuilders | Fitness Model | XXL Nutrition Athlete | Personal Coach & Trainers | Nutritionists | Apparel Designers | Writer | Marketer | Health & Fitness Blogger | Eat Clean, Train Mean | Kidney Cancer Survivor | Photographer | Videographer

Leave a Reply

